Use OneDrive

Use OneDrive

Set up your OneDrive

 

 

 

 

 

 

1

Type OneDrive in the start menu

cdn.webp

2

Sign in using your Selkirk College email address (e.g. janedoe@edu.selkirk.ca)

3

Make note of your OneDrive location and click Next

4

Uncheck any folders you do not want it to be synced.  Click Continue.

5

Skip this next step.

6

Click through the following screens to familiarize yourself with OneDrive features.

 

7

Optional: download the app for your mobile device.

 

Share Files and Folders

Caution: OneDrive files should only be shared with internal Selkirk Staff, Faculty and Students (e.g. @selkirk.ca, @edu.selkirk.ca).

Share OneDrive files from your Office apps

To share a file from Word, Excel, PowerPoint, or another Office app:

  1. Select 

     Share on the ribbon.

    Or, select File > Share.

    Note: If your file is not already saved to OneDrive, you'll be prompted to upload your file to OneDrive to share it.

  2. Select who you want to share with from the drop-down, or enter a name or email address.

  3. Add a message (optional) and select Send.


Share files from OneDrive

  1. Right click the file and select Share.

    Or, select a file and select 

     Share on the toolbar.

  2. Select who you want to share with from the drop-down, or enter a name or email address.

  3. Add a message (optional) and select Send.


Change views

The left pane lets you filter your view of items in OneDrive.

  • Files - See all of your OneDrive files and folders.

  • Recent - See which Office documents you've opened most recently, whether you've modified them or not.

  • Shared - See items that you've shared with other people and that other people have shared with you.

  • Discover - See what's trending around you, based on who you work with and what you're working on.

  • Recycle bin - See items and folders that you've deleted.


Stop or change sharing

If you are the file owner, or have edit permissions, you can stop or change the sharing permissions.

  1. Select the file or folder you want to stop sharing.

  2. Select Information 

     in the upper-right corner to open the Details pane.

  3. Select Manage access and:

    • Select the X next to a link to disable it.

    • Select Can Edit or Can View, and then select Stop Sharing.

    • Select Can Edit or Can View and then select Change to….


Copy link

  • Select a file and select 

     Copy link.

  • Or, right click a file and select Copy link.